Back in Action

Hello adoring fan-base, I’m back in action! I was in Denver visiting my Great Aunt (and oh yeah, doing some stuff for work). The work trip was the wrap-up to a year-long project I never really wanted to be on in the first place (I don’t talk much about work, here or otherwise, not because I’m worried about being dooced, but because it’s really boring!). So I’m taking a few days off (PFL) to pour back into the family time bucket some of what leaked out over the past month (wrapping up this project).

So I’m trying to take the bed I built for #1 and build it up into bunkbeds. I’ve been working pretty hard on it these past days off. I’ve made the usual false-starts due to lack of planning and tools, but now I’m at a point where all that is left is cutting the slats, sanding, polyurethaning, and assembly. I’ll post some pictures when it’s done.

So I’ll sign off for now, more content in the next few days. In the meantime, check out my Grandpa’s new blog (our family is taking over the world, one blog at a time)!

3 Responses

  1. Yo Rube! Welcome back.

    PFL sounds like a brilliant scheme. Presumably the employer benefits measurably from its workforce letting off a bit of family steam. I wonder if the UK government could be persuaded to look at the idea.

    I remember admiring your ability to shuck the work mindset outside hours. My obsessive personality doesn’t lend itself well to controlling this, so I need good examples. Thanks!

  2. Welcome back…a pkg is on its way to you as of today.

  3. Thx AB, and thx DJT. You should know that I’ve developed a new motto (maybe it could even replace the hypocrite one — it’s just as not concise nor pithy): “I have limited enough emotional capacity — I can’t afford to waste any on work”

    Also, I think the UK system is already pretty good, with mothers getting something like half pay for 6 weeks. Although I think it’s mandated pay from the employer, not from a govt fund. Also, nothing for fathers I think.

Leave a Reply

