Resurrection Reflection

Best concept from the Resurrection Day sermon: what if the resurrection isn't true? Some Abbot or vow-of-silence monk or some such (with #1 and #2 in the service, I can't be expected to catch every word!) came up with a weak response along the lines of "well, at least some good may come of me living a life of service and piety". Our pastor's response was much more brutally honest (I paraphrase)

If the resurrection isn't true, then at best I'm wasting my life and I'm wasting your time. At worst, I am being disingenuous and harmful.

He also cited, of course, Paul's answer to the same question (which I have quoted here before):

…If in this life only we have hoped in Christ, we are of all people most to be pitied.

4 Responses

  1. My sermon text from Sunday was the passage you cite. If Jesus did not rise from the dead, we are miserable, lost wretches, to be pitied. BUT HE IS RISEN, HALLELUJAH!!! Sorry for getting a little overly charismatic and exhuberant on you, there…

  2. I don’t understand (never professed to be the brightest bulb in the box)…

    three kinds of people? 1) those who can count 2) those who can’t

    10 kinds of people? 1) those who know binary 2) those who don’t

    Aren’t these just two????

    Must be a joke I don’t get.

    The first one is funny and thought provoking. Three kinds of people and three descriptions. :)

  3. Seems to me the answer is in 1CO 15:12 ff. Our preacher didn’t preach on this particular passage, but he read from it as part of the Easter service.

  4. Hey Lessie, just dropping by?

    Jokes indeed, and I’m happy to explain them: “10” is the number 2, written in binary, so if you know binary, you can pronounce the whole thing as “There are two kinds of people…”. As for those that can count, and those that can’t, you can probably guess which category the teller of the joke falls into…

Leave a Reply

