Bible for Boys

So #1 has been complaining in church lately, "why do I always have to copy from Hebrews?" I guess he's a casualty of our church's love of expositional preaching. On the plus side, we are protected from hobby-horse preaching (so we hear Heb 6:4-6 one week, and Heb 6:9-12 the next week (and if we were going through Romans, we would force ourselves to confront both ends of this stumper (27-28 vs. 31))). On the minus, side, #1 doesn't get to fully exercise his tabbies.

Since I miscalculated, and had him copy Heb 6:11-12 last week (Heb 6:4-12 was the reading last week, so I didn't anticipate that it would also be the reading this week, with the sermon covering the second half) I gave him a reprieve. I told him he would be able to copy from something other than Hebrews, and he said "like from Psalms?" So I skimmed through and chose this for him:

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,

whose sin is covered.

Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity,

and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

(except in my REB it is translated 'happy is he whose offence is forgiven, whose sins are blotted out'). He enjoyed the language repetition, so I explained to him a little bit about how it is poetry.

And since our Sunday night service was "expressional" (individual expressions, no sermon), and since next week's Hebrews looks pretty sparse for little minds, I initiated a longer passage that he is enjoying:

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God

2 Responses

  1. How about having him copy from some of the OT references Hebrews makes, or copying from something like The Message (gasp)…just to change it up a bit? I think he’s probably too young to be able to paraphrase. That’s what I did with most of the NT when I was in junior high–all on my own and as a gift to my dad, your grandpa.

  2. Oops, I hadn’t read all the extra stuff and see that you had already figured the OT bit out. How could I think I could be ahead of you all? You’re in the trenches.

Leave a Reply

