Searches

One of the amusing things about WordPress is the way the dashboard tracks search terms which landed somebody on your (my) blog.

I get a lot concerning bunk beds, which currently turns up #1 for a Google search of bed post rail bolt hidden. I occasionally get hits concerning popeye, like popeye and i am god (currently I’m the second result from Google on this search). I draw in a bunch of the Dr. Atkins and Dr. Ferber crowds, with searches like atkins “kidney stone” (Google page 2) and how to coax babies who cry in middle of night (I couldn’t find Blogorrhea within the first 10 pages returned from this as a Google search, but there are other search engines).

Some turns of phrase turn up 1st in a Google search (should anybody ever search for them), like Calvinist Castle, and gently electrified bags of meat, and reasonable egotist.  Although Blogorrhea doesn’t show up unti page 2, I am the one and only RubeRad.

Oddly, people often stumble onto my blog looking for other people. Most of my frequent readers can probably understand why my blog would turn up in a search for Jeff K., Doug Balcombe, Bruce Settergren, or simplyconnect, but who is Nathan Lino?

It’s been a particularly busy week for Christian musichymns in particular. There was a time when I kept getting hits for dem bones sheet music (currently Bible for Boys is on page 5 of the previous linked Google search), no doubt because of that one mention of ‘dem bones’, and my frequent use of ‘sheet music‘). In the last week people found me through all of the following (you can paste any of these into the Blogorrhea search box up yonder if you are curious about which post they caught):

  • worship songs da vinci sermon
  • christian song tune of ode to joy
  • thine the deadly pain
  • framed hymns
  • best hymn
  • lyric “O God Beyond All Praising”
  • wedding hymns to a different tune
  • dont sing a worship song to your girlfriend
  • “we are the circumcision” lyrics [I’m first!]

It’s amusing to think of what is going on in other people’s lives to cause them to conduct these searches. So whoever you are, here are the lyrics to “we are the circumcision”, which are just Phillipians 3:3, verbatim from the King James:

We are the circumcision, which worship God in the spirit (2x)

And rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh (2x)

(47x)

13 Responses

  1. How do you know what searches are turning your blog up?

  2. Very cool. Thanks.

  3. When you are logged into your WordPress blog, click on “My Dashboard”, leftmost in the upper stripe, and then click “Blog Stats”. At the bottom of that page you will see the past two days’ worth of search terms. Clicking on the words “Search Engine Terms” takes you to a place where you can view a 7-day report.  Hits per post are also maintained, and you can see 7- and 30-day reports.  I’m not sure if this data is persisted, or if it just rolls off after 30 days.

    I’ll see whether I can reach your blog via Google, and maybe you’ll get some hits in there!

  4. Sorry dude, I couldn’t find it with Google or Technorati — maybe after you have a few posts up, the search engine spiders will crawl through and catalogue it…

  5. My classnotes.wordpress.com has been up for 4 months and has zero hits, not that I care.

  6. Well that’s not literally true. I’ve looked at it 2 or 3 times. If you go into My Dashboard — Presentation — Sidebar Widgets and install a Blog Stats widget, I bet you will see that you have gotten at least a dozen hits. As for search engine hits, well, you just don’t really have any text that’s searchable.

    If somebody were to search for intrusion ethics sheet music (I know that’s kind of cheating), they’d find you at blogspot. Hey, that gives me an idea. We should write a hymn titled “Intrusion Ethics”, and distribute sheet music! It will be a best-seller, right behind “In affairs of economics, prophet Amos spoke the word…”

  7. I was referring to search engine hits. And I have a lot of text that’s searchable. Isn’t all text searchable?

  8. Searchable, but not findable unless it is unique (SIP: statistically improbably phrase) or more important (according to the search engine’s criteria) than other sites with the same text.

  9. RubeRad, you really can make me laugh sometimes. :)

  10. I would think Pentateuch class has beaucoup SIPs. Although it is probably true that a statistically insignificant number of people actually care about the Pentateuch.

    So, you are saying I could look at my classnotes blog, locate a SIP and then google it?

  11. How long did it take you to find that SIP? And, should I now have a search hit?

  12. About thirty seconds, and yes.

Leave a Reply

