Truth

Wandering through the oldest of LN’s archives, I discovered that G. K. Chesterton conquered the yawning chasm of centuries to write a blog! Immediately, I was gobsmacked by this incredible quote:

A man was meant to be doubtful about himself, but undoubting about the truth; this has been exactly reversed.

I am more sure than ever, I need to read some Chesterton. I’m not sure what exactly he was writing about in his day, but his message strikes at the heart of today’s postmodern (truth-denying) culture of self (-esteem, -love, -worth, -actualization, -realization, -empowerment — when what we need is some good old -control and -denial!)

4 Responses

  1. Back when I was going through my Roman Catholic phase (2001-2002) I picked up some Chesterton. So I have three titles you can read if you like. [Orthodoxy, The Everlasting Man, and Chesterton’s Biography of St. Thomas Aquinas]

  2. Fantastic quote. Reminds me of Job’s error, which was similar to the postmodern: to question God’s righteousness more readily than he questioned his own.

    This idea is what I had in mind when I wrote the post Literally. Some relevant highlights from that post:

    “When a book and a brain collide and a hollow sound results, is the fault always with the book?” … Simply because I don’t understand something now doesn’t mean it can’t be understood (what hubris!), or that I won’t understand it later. … Any clunks in my understanding of the Bible I ascribe to myself before I ascribe to God. In this way I hope to avoid something akin to the error of Job, who in his uncertainty reserved more respect for his own understanding than he did for God.

  3. […] If you haven’t yet, pop on over here for a juicy quote from G. K. Chesterton. I wonder if I can find any from J. R. R. Tolkien? Those brits and their initials and their pithy sayings! Maybe if I started calling myself R. J. I would become more clever. […]

  4. http://tinyurl.com/yk2ajs

    This link will take you to Esther Meek, Longing to Know.

    It is a book about epistemology that will totally turn things on their head. It did for me. I hated it until I got about halfway through and realized she was right and that I was a Platonist. DOH!

Leave a Reply

