EZ Reader

Books #1 has read recently:

My entire collection of Calvin and Hobbes: this one, that one, and the other one (from Amazon lists, it appears that this one has no overlap with those, so that might make a good birthday present…)

Sugar Creek Gang (original 50’s): #1, #2, #3. These came from the church library.

Mr. Popper’s Penguins: apparently a classic, even though I’d never heard of it. He loved this book; there was much that made him laugh.

How to Eat Fried Worms: I enjoyed this when I was a kid; he wanted to see the movie coming out, so I told him he could if he read the book. This is a policy we hope to stick with also for things like Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, etc.

Pippi Longstocking: We’re only a few chapters into this one so far, but he also finds this very funny.

All but Mr. Popper’s Penguins and Pippi Longstocking, he read completely by himself. For these two, Tina trades reading chapters with him.

Coming up next, some gifts from Aunt Barbara’s visit (Half Magic and Redwall), and although I’ve never heard of them, I know they’ll be great, because Aunt Barb knows books! (And I mean she knows books!)

One Response

  1. As soon as things settle down from the beginning of the school year, we’ll send you the first couple of the Swallows and Amazon series as well, your cuzes’ favorites of childhood, IF they had to choose. Very British for your #1 and the essence of an ideal childhood. I thought I could sail at Cedar Campus after having read them all to/with the girls. Of course, I couldn’t, but, never mind.

Leave a Reply

