U2-charist

An article from USA Today, via Albino Hayford:

The U2 Eucharist is not some kind of youth service held in the church basement but is a traditional Episcopal liturgy that uses U2’s best-selling songs as hymns. …

Much of U2’s songbook is explicitly Christian and perfectly suitable for a worship service, even if some people might need time to get used to the idea, Blair says.

Needless to say, I disapprove. I have tagged this post under Music and Religion, and I’m this far from checking the box for my Heresy tag. As for my Hymns tag, that’s right out!

This newsflash desperately cries out for comment from this Stranger, who is not only an intentional Episcopalian, but also U2’s (and Bono’s) biggest fan (as well as appreciating traditional hymnody).

5 Responses

  1. Doesn’t float my boat either. Not that new, though…

    One of the most amusing calls to worship I ever saw, however, was at Bill Hybel’s church, Willow Creek, on Easter of 1985. Dancers came prancing in to the tune of “Celebrate” by Cool and the Gang. Later, the congregation crooned Elvis’ “I Can’t Help Falling in Love With You” during worship. I felt as out of place as Echo at a conference on the Holy Spirit.

  2. Hey, one post per week now, okay?

    Even I have a problem with this. Yuck.

    Give me love songs to God. I want to take them back from the people who worship their women. Worship belongs to God, not to our wives! :)

    Jeff

  3. The reason why I haven’t commented on this particular liturgical phenomenon? They’ve been around forever… I just now searched and found a reference to it on the U2 Sermons blog which keeps track of U2 and religion related topics, from way back in November 2005.

    My opinion is that the only U2 song I would ever consider using in a worship service is “40” But that’s because the lyrics are from 2 different Psalms. Psalms used in a worship service? Of course! Psalms set to U2’s music like “40”? In moderation. “Daddy’s Gonna Pay for Your Crashed Car”? Nope.

  4. I rush to emphasize that the U2 Sermons blog has no affiliation whatever with this particular worship gimmick, and is multidenominational. But Ellen (hi Ellen!), you are so right — been around forever: move along, nothing to see here. It’s almost impossible to research such a thing before the Internet, but the first such service I definitely personally know of was in 1991 in Ireland. And I would just be shocked if nobody thought of a service based around their music the last time U2 were this big in the churchy world, 1987-88. The way both the secular media and the mainline church are jumping up and down over it is really a nice case study in the religious ignorance of the former and the cultural ignorance of the latter.

  5. Yeah, I’ve heard that the episcopalians like to clown around with the eucarist. I’m not laughing…

Leave a Reply

