Subtraction

So the other day, #2 was doing a math worksheet for fun (yeah, for fun! I wonder where he gets it)! He asked me, “Hey Daddy, what’s 6 minus 5?” I asked him,

“If you had six candies, and then I took five of them away, how many would you have left?”

“Six?”

“No, six is what you had in the beginning, before I took five away! Go get six coins from my coin cup”

“OK, so now you have six coins, and I take away one, two, three,…”

“Oh, it’s one!”

The next day, in the car after school, I hear #2 from the back,

“What’s 8 minus 6?”

“Why don’t you figure it out?”

A little time goes by, and then I hear him say,

“I need six more pencils.”

“Why, how many do you have?”

“Two.”

3 Responses

  1. “So if you had those six extra pencils, and then I took them back away again, how many would you have left?”

    “Oh, so it’s two?”

Leave a Reply

