Paedobaptism Resources

Lately I find myself pasting the same links into emails, as I meet lots of new guys at church or Hoagies & Stogies who are at various places along the one-way-road from credobaptism to paedobaptism. Also, Blogorrhea has seen an exceptional dearth of posts , so I figured it would be a good idea to put all my references here, so in the future I can just hand out one link.
First off, there’s Josh Brisby’s blog. He gives the fairest presentation I have seen of the plusses and minuses of both sides. I would start with this post, way back from when even he was still on the fence. You can read in his blog how he finally cracked a few months later; here and here. And you might be interested in downloading his contribution to H&S: open mic night, it’s about half an hour.
Probably the biggest contributor to Josh’s credo->paedo conversion was another friend of mine, Paul Manata. Paul is kind of a logical bulldog, while Josh has a much more irenic personality, so I recommend Josh to others first. But if you are the mp3/debate type, this is a very good debate that Paul did.
I’ve blogged a fair bit about baptism myself; I think my three best posts are The Threat of Baptism over at the Outhouse, and a matching pair of posts here at Blogorrhea: Father Abraham had many sons……and one of them was Ishmael (incidentally those are in response to the Manata/Cook debate linked above).
You can’t go wrong with Dennis Johnson, Infant Baptism, How My Mind Has Changed. It’s a letter that he wrote to his daughter, and later turned into an article/pamphlet, that has become very popular. It is the first thing my pastor gave when I was going through this (I showed up at New Life a little before Brian Tallman, when George Miladin was still the pastor).
There’s Danny Hyde’s book Jesus Loves the Little Children, and if you go to the MP3 download page for The Academy (a lecture series from Kim Riddlebarger’s church), you can search for “Hyde” and find him lecturing about the book. He says there that the book is his attempt to popularize Meredith Kline’s work on baptism (see By Oath Consigned and Kingdom Prologue).
I haven’t read Fesko’s new book Word, Water, and Spirit, but for a more in-depth academic work, I think this is the place to turn. There are at least two interviews out there, at Office Hours and Christ the Center.
[Update:] Below Jeff Downs links to a series of classes by Bill Shishko, and Pooka takes up his analogy of the Ring (or rather analogies) over at his blog
36 Responses

  1. I still relate very much to Josh. Seems like a parallel track I’m following.

  2. Woot. The one by Dennis Johnson. Right on. Reference material.

  3. The more I talk to credo–>paedo converts, the more it seems all our tracks are parallel. Maybe not all roads lead to Rome, but it seems that all roads that lead to the Reformation are parallel…

  4. Frightening that is.

  5. We do not bury ourselves. This is passive. It is something that happens to us. We are not the subject, we are the object. We do not baptize ourselves to show Christ how much we love him and how we are willing to be obedient to him.

    As I sometimes do, I wanted to rescue this gem of Echo’s from obscurity-by-volume.

    We don’t baptize ourselves at all. We have to be baptized by somebody else. You can’t just go cannonball into a river and call yourself baptized. The whole notion of adult baptism stems from misconception that I have faith, and thus I join the church by causing myself to get baptized.

    The opposite is true. The church marks its own by baptizing them.

    That right there, from the discussion ensuing from Ishmael

  6. Another good resource is Bill Shishko’s class on Baptism.

    • Thx Jeff, I’ll throw those on the (ever-growing) pile of things to listen to…

      • Sheesh. Got enough for a month. My player only holds 4 gigs. And I’m supposed to be studying for Membership class too. Haven’t got to Baptism yet (though that pending discussion makes me somewhat nervous).

  7. Just started on Bill Shishko’s class.

    • …And it’s gooooood. Explains a LOT that I’ve not encountered before. My baptigelical upbringing did not discuss baptism. It was solely a public demonstration of faith when I was baptized. Nobody ever told me how much it really means. And I’m only on session 3.

    • The analogy of the diamond ring in lesson 6-7 is priceless.

      I’m really glad about how Shishko goes to great pains to teach the meaning and value of baptism. He’s 7 hours into this and has focused on the scriptural references and related “raw data” of baptism throughout the Bible. It’s blowin’ my brains and I love it!

      Each time I look at this, there’s more depth to our baptism. It doesn’t just mean a public profession.

      • I won’t get a chance to listen to these for a good while, but you’re piquing my interest — what is this diamond ring analogy? Or better than cramming good stuff into a combox (hiding it under a bushel?), you should put it in a blog post!

      • I’m working on it! It’s rich! I just don’t want to do any injustice to how he teaches it, so it’s gonna be a bit more carefully worked out than my usual bloggy splatter.

  8. Glad you are enjoying it. I had this in short form a few weeks ago at Greenville Seminary, so I need to listen to this also.

  9. Jeff, know anyone with the outline? It might be pretty useful.

  10. No, I have an exam for the course, a syllabus, but not outine of the lectures.

  11. Got them in electronic? Would you be willing to share?

  12. Here’s an article I read a long time ago that contains a “ring” analogy. I don’t know if this is where Shisko goes.

    http://www.reformed.org/sacramentology/index.html?mainframe=http://www.reformed.org/sacramentology/rg_allegory.html

    • Not the same. The analogy Shishko has is more a way of looking at baptism in most of its aspects. If you want to look at just that portion of Shishko’s lessons, I believe it is #6. Just be aware He’s taken the 5 previous sessions to build up to this one. That’s 5 hours of background.

  13. […] and tearing down presupposition after presupposition I was clinging to. I have a number of other thank-you mentions, but gotta start with the source for today’s illustration. In wanting to get this out today, […]

    • It ain’t much. I’ll fill in gaps when I have more time. I seriously have 4 pages of notes from this alone, and stacks of stuff from the last year. Hope I got it across right.

      • I’m looking forward to reading it, but super busy weekend coming up, it might have to wait until Sunday afternoon…

      • Same here, so I got it out today rather than waiting till probably Monday. Might get back on this weekend for a second post, but not guaranteed.

  14. [Update:] Below Jeff Downs links to a series of classes by Bill Shishko, and Pooka takes up his analogy of the Ring (or rather analogies) over at his blog

  15. Seriously considering asking William Shishko if I can transcribe the whole thing. It’s that good. Would be awesome as a book.

  16. […] or Household Baptism (a.k.a. Paedo Baptism). Again, props to a great source on all this; thanks, RubeRad. Previous post related is Rings here at […]

  17. […] Previously I wrote No Hope For Our Children? And before that Rings… A Look At Baptism And a fairly big list of resources from Blogorrhea […]

  18. Hope you don’t mind, Reuben, here’s another. I’ve heard the closing comments and they’re pretty good. Working on the rest this week.

    White Shishko Debate

  19. […] or Household Baptism (a.k.a. Paedo Baptism). Again, props to a great source on all this; thanks, RubeRad. Previous post related is Rings here at […]

  20. […] Previously I wrote No Hope For Our Children? And before that Rings… A Look At Baptism And a fairly big list of resources from Blogorrhea […]

  21. […] and tearing down presupposition after presupposition I was clinging to. I have a number of other thank-you mentions, but gotta start with the source for today’s illustration. In wanting to get this out today, […]

  22. […] and tearing down presupposition after presupposition I was clinging to. I have a number of other thank-you mentions, but gotta start with the source for today’s illustration. In wanting to get this out today, […]

Leave a Reply

