It’s Like the Gospel

Last Friday, I lost my wedding ring (as well as a watch I’ve been very fond of since T-bird gave it to me before we were married), at the park where I play ultimate (frisbee). Instead of showering and changing afterwards, I worked sweaty for a little bit before picking up the boys from school, and heading home. Through the weekend, as I couldn’t find my ring in any of the usual or potential places, I began to worry. On Monday, I called the security office at work, and nobody had turned it in.The community center at the park was closed (President’s Day), but I went to the park, searched my path, and posted some signs. Tuesday, the community center was open, but the office was empty.  I saw a bulletin board in the office with other Lost&Found notices, but nothing about my ring.

By Wednesday, I had given up hope. I had used Google Maps Street View to find the jeweler who had made the ring (based on my memory of its proximity to Edinburgh Castle, from T’s & my vacation Easter 2000), gotten from there to the jeweler’s website, and resigned myself to paying around £500-1000 for a perfect replacement. Wednesday I didn’t even try to call the park, because I was busy, and I had given up.

Today I decided to try the park office number again and at least leave a message. I actually got a person on the line, and yes, somebody had contacted them about finding a ring and watch on a bench at a softball field! You can imagine my elation!

Immediately, I could feel an adrenaline rush as a wave of euphoric relief washed over me; and not long after, I thought of the parable of the Lost Coin from Luke 15. “Now I understand better,” I thought, “how the woman felt when she found her coin; how grateful anyone should be when they find the gospel — the Kingdom of God, like a magnificent pearl or a buried treasure!” It also occurred to me that my situation helps me understand the already/not yet. Just as surely as my ring is found, I am justified — even though I won’t have the ring back on my hand for maybe a day or two, while I wait for the park office to contact the finder, and make arrangements to get it back. In the meantime, I have Hope. Not just “I hope I get my ring back” but an assurance of something not seen.

But then I read the bible. As useful and happying as the above reactions may be, that’s not what the parable of the Lost Coin is about. In the first place, it’s not in proximity to the Kingdom parables of the pearl and the treasure, like I thought. Instead, it follows the parable of the Lost Sheep. And the point of the parable has nothing to do with how we feel when we find a great treasure like the Gospel; analogy serves to show how God feels when he recovers a lost sinner.

Score one (million) more for a Christocentric — rather than a me-centric — reading of scripture!

8 Responses

  1. BTW, I therefore apologize to strict confessionalists for the images of Christ in the post…

  2. Right on. Lovely.

  3. the parable of the Lost Coin is not in proximity to the Kingdom parables of the pearl and the treasure, like I thought

    And who says the parables of the pearl and the treasure are about us, anyways? After all, who was it that gave a tremendous sacrifice to obtain whom?

  4. Sez #1 last night “So when you don’t wear your wedding ring, there are probably a lot of ladies that come up to you and say, ‘Hey, you’re kinda cute!'”

  5. Once again, have I the wing. The guy that found it works in a building just down the hill from me!

  6. Glad you got the ring back.

    (glad God has got me back! I’ll wander off later today and He can look for me again)

Leave a Reply

